Green Tea Thumbs Anyone?

Ever thought about growing your own tea? I have and I’m in the process of doing so. I’m pretty excited to try this out. My mom is really good at gardening and such so I’m hoping she passed down the green thumb gene.

The scientific name for tea is Camellia Sinensis. As I mentioned in my health benefits post ALL types of tea come from the SAME plant. This plant originally came from China., Tibet and northern areas of India. Not from America— challenge 1 for growing my own tea, especially Vermont in the middle of winter. (Totally not fair to get that little taste of Spring a week ago in BTV) You are supposed to grow tea outside in Zone 8 areas, which isn’t exactly near or around VT. Oh well! I’ll just do it inside and hope that my cats won’t mess this up for me.

When I received my seeds from Whatcom Seed Company the instructions word for word say, “Sow seeds 3/4” deep in standard soil mix with coarse sand added.  Keep damp.  Ideal night temperature of 55F, day 68F.  High humidity and filtered sun.  Fertilize often.  Ideal pH 5-6.”

Okay, some direction, not much. So what now? As a 1st step my mom and I ventured to Gardner’s Supply on the interval. The staff there was soo friendly and super helpful. One of the ladies there whipped out what looked like the manual for the gardener’s dream and copied a whole page about growing and harvest tea for me. After I picked up my soil (which was actually meant for cacti) we were on our way!

If you have never seen a tea seed before, they looked like hazelnuts!

Tea Seeds!

I never would have thought that they looked like this before so I was quite shocked when I received them in the mail. Per suggestion from the friendly staff at Gardener Supply, I have placed my seed in almost boiling water and now I’m letting them sit for 24 hours. This is because when I recieved the seeds they were really hard and are dried out. So in an effort to make sure the germination can happen ASAP, soaking then will give me a semi-head start! I get to plant in 1 day! I’m so excited for this.

Soaking my Tea Seeds

About katherinemcgrath

I am a senior marketing student at Champlain College. I am a tea enthusiast and cannot wait to share my knowledge about tea and learn from others as well.
This entry was posted in Growing Tea and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Green Tea Thumbs Anyone?

  1. milliehoots says:

    This sounds so cool…I’m starting my own garden for the first time this year and I know how exciting it is. Will keep watching to see how it all turns out for you…good luck!

Leave a Reply

